Finalizing Packaging Artwork
Finalizing Packaging Artwork
Summary
Steps for preparing a finalized packaging artwork file so it is print-ready and cleanly separated from template guides and reference art before sending to order.
Steps
- Save As from the "FINAL"
.aifile.- Add "ORDER" to the end of the file name.
- Make sure template lines are on a separate layer than the packaging artwork, and lock the whole layer.
- Make sure any extra art or references are on a separate layer than the packaging artwork, and lock the whole layer.
- Unlock all objects — Object > Unlock All.
- Delete all hidden objects (unused objects hiding in the artwork layers).
- Unhide all hidden objects — Object > Show All.
- This shows and selects all hidden objects.
- Delete the selected objects.
- Unhide all hidden objects — Object > Show All.
- Expand artwork.
- Select all packaging artwork.
- Convert all text to outlines —
Shift + Cmd/Ctrl + O(Type > Create Outlines). - Object > Envelope Distort > Expand
- Object > Path > Outline Stroke
- Object > Expand Appearance
- Review artwork.
- Review a few strokes, texts, envelope distorts, and effects to confirm they were properly expanded.
- Review all art to make sure nothing looks visually different.
- Review any nutrition facts / ingredients for accuracy by comparing against the reference.